River basin area

River basin area means land and sea area consisting of one or more neighbouring river basins, together with associated groundwater and coastal waters, as defined in art. 3 par. 1 WFD, as the main body for river basin management. (Source DIRECTIVE 2000/60/EC OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT AND OF THE COUNCIL of 23 October 2000) There are 9 river basin areas designated in Poland: of Vistula, Odra, Dniester, Danube, Banówka, Elbe, Niemen, Pregola, Świeża.